Mark Byrnes

Mark Byrnes is a senior associate editor at CityLab who writes about design and architecture.

Revisiting Pittsburgh’s Era of Big Plans

A conversation with the trio of authors behind a new book about the Steel City’s mid-20th-century transformation.

Detail of a Brutalist building.

Can This Flawed Brutalist Plaza in Boston Be Fixed?

The chain-link fences are finally down at Boston’s long-closed Government Services Center, thanks to some clever design updates.

A Designer’s Airport for the Jet Age

As this 1958 Charles and Ray Eames film shows, Dulles was truly designed for modern air travel.

Black-and-white photo of an architect's legs sticking out of his large tabletop model of an airport.

Escaping Reality Through the TWA Hotel

It’s now a fantasy-steeped hotel honoring the airport design of a bygone era, but the TWA Flight Center at New York’s JFK Airport was never quite real.

What I. M. Pei Had Planned for Oklahoma City

The late architect and planner had some very big ideas for Oklahoma City in the 1960s. But the final result wasn’t exactly what he had in mind.

CityLab Daily: How I. M. Pei Shaped the Modern City

Also: The history of New York City’s playgrounds, and can there be a “Fairbnb?”

A photo of Kurt Treeby's tissue-box replica of a building designed by Cesar Pelli.

A Tissue for Your Favorite Demolished Building

Artist Kurt Treeby’s small tissue-box replicas of threatened and razed modern architecture mix cuteness with contemplation and mourning.

The facade of a casino in Atlantic City.

Photographing the Trumpian Urbanism of Atlantic City

Brian Rose’s new book uses the deeply troubled New Jersey city as a window into how a developer-turned-president operates.

a photo of Walter Gropius's house in Lincoln, Massachusetts.

Reading Bauhaus: 7 Books to Mark a Modernist Milestone

A roundup of reads for fans of Walter Gropius, Mies van der Rohe, Marcel Breuer, and other big names of the Bauhaus art and design movement.

Why Marcel Breuer's Brutalism Lives on in Atlanta

Despite changes in architectural fashion and a debate over its future, the Brutalist Atlanta-Fulton Central Library will live on.

CityLab Daily: The Art School That Changed the World

Also: Will Pittsburgh’s gun control laws get more black people killed? And how to plug into your local music scene.

Why the Bauhaus Still Matters

A special series that reflects on the Bauhaus school on its 100th anniversary—from the roots of its ideas to how its concepts impacted an impure world.

Why Deborah Berke Loves Building in America’s Mid-Sized Cities

The architect and dean of the Yale School of Architecture speaks to CityLab about her work, her industry, and the cities she loves working in.

Mosaics of silver-colored dogs line the walls of a New York subway station.

The New Stars of a NYC Subway Station: Very Good Doggos

Artist William Wegman’s famous Weimaraners are now immortalized in mosaics in the New York subway.

Three images of built and unbuilt work by Modernist architect Paul Rudolph for Hong Kong.

Revisiting Architect Paul Rudolph’s Hong Kong Years

A new exhibit highlights the Modernist architect’s little-known designs made while working in Asia.

A drawing of humans assembling a modular municipal installation next to a photo of three men assembling one in real life.

When Soviet Industrial Designers Imagined a Better World

Thanks to tireless work by the Moscow Museum of Design, a forgotten institute’s lost work is being introduced to a new generation of designers.

Graphic designer Burton Kramer thumbs through the pages of the CBC design standards manual he created.

How Canada Discovered Its Visual Identity

A documentary by Vancouver-based graphic designer Greg Durrell explores the surprisingly rich history behind the nation’s postwar design culture.

A curvy, one-story white building from the 1960s with glass walls and teal trim located in Naugatuck, Connecticut.

An Ultimate Architectural Road Trip of East Coast Mid-Century Modernism

Architecture writer Sam Lubell and photographer Darren Bradley reveal the hidden gems and greatest hits of postwar design along the Eastern Seaboard.

How Boston Got Its ‘T’

Designers Peter Chermayeff and Tom Geismar talk about how they gave the MBTA an enduring makeover.

A Canadian Hockey Brawl Over Subway Art

At a Toronto station that fed fans into the city’s hockey arena, a 1985 mural that depicted the Maple Leafs’ biggest rival enraged team owner Harold Ballard.

It’s Time to Feel the Sexy Pulse of a 1980s Transit Mall

The original vision for the Buffalo’s failed car-free-zone downtown was always a fantasy, as this TV spot shows.